Skip to main content

New Climate Change Department Gears Up

by Staff Writers •
Subscriber preview

The new Department of Climate Change (within the Prime Minister's portfolio) appears to be gearing up, with the advertisement of a number of senior positions. Created in early December 2008 following the federal election, the Department of Climate Change is responsible for Australia's climate change policy.

The Department (and its minister Senator Penny Wong) has responsibility for the Government's climate change policy, including international agreements such as Kyoto, and emission trading arrangements.

Funding, regulation and implementation of these environmental and water programs is largely the responsibility of the Department of Environment, Heritage, Water and the Arts (DEHWA), under Peter Garrett.

The new positions range from First Assistant Secretary to various Policy Adviser positions. At this stage, no IT positions have been advertised, possibly indicating that the new Department's IT requirements will be provided by PM&C.

A chart on its website shows the organisation of key senior positions within the Department.

Already a subscriber? Sign in here to keep reading

Want more content like this? Contact our team today for subscription options!

  • Stay up-to-date on hot topics in government
  • Navigate your business with executive level horizon outlooks
  • Get deep public sector ICT insights on our Market Watch series
  • Federal
  • Resources
  • Department of Climate Change
  • Kyoto
  • Penny Wong
  • Peter Garrett