Skip to main content

Queensland Government gets a new ICT department

by Paris Cowan •
Subscriber preview

Machinery of Government (MOG) changes have dramatically restructured the Queensland Government, including the effective dissolution of the Department of Public Works and the transferral of its ICT functions to a brand new body.

The Department of Science, Information Technology, Innovation and the Arts (DSITIA) has been established and will be responsible for the whole-of-government ICT agency CITEC, government ICT policy, planning and service delivery and shared services systems. The Queensland Government Chief Information Office (QGCIO) will also fall into DSITIA under the new arrangements.

DSITIA will operate under the leadership of Director-General Phillip Reed. Reed was previously the Director-General at the Queensland Department of Attorney-General and Justice.

The new Department will answer to Minister for Science, Information Technology, Innovation and the Arts Ros Bates.

However Queensland Government shared services provision (through Queensland Shared Services or QSS) will remain under the authority of a reshuffled Department of Housing and Public Works (HPW), with the exception of the in-house shared services functions within the Queensland Health and Education Departments.

Smart Service Queensland, the agency in charge of integrated government services, including the ongoing development of QGov Online, will also remain within the Department of Housing and Public Works.

The former Director-General of the Department of Public Works, Natalie McDonald, will remain the head of HPW despite the changes. The Department will answer to Minister for Housing and Public Works, Dr Bruce Flegg.

In contrast to his Coalition counterparts in NSW, who turned 13 super departments into nine, Premier Campbell Newman has instead overseen a dismantling of the Queensland structure, turning his 13 departments into 20.

As Newman suggested prior to the election, the new departments have been aligned with ministerial portfolios.

“We will introduce clear ministerial responsibility for their departments, in line with the Westminster tradition of departments reporting to a single minister,” he said.

 This restructure has required the dissolution of some giants of the Queensland public service, such as the Department of Employment, Economic Development and Innovation (DEEDI), the functions of which have been split amongst nine new bodies.

The functions of the former Department of Environment and Resource Management (DERM) are now shared by four departments.

The tabling of an administrative arrangements order on 3 April 2012 has introduced 14 new departments to the State Government.

The new departments include:

  1. Department of State Development, Infrastructure and Planning
  2. Queensland Treasury and Trade
  3. Department of Education, Training and Employment
  4. Department of Housing and Public Works
  5. Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
  6. Department of Environment and Heritage Protection
  7. Department of Natural Resources and Mines
  8. Department of Energy and Water Supply
  9. Department of Communities, Child Safety and Disability Services

10. Department of Science, Information Technology, Innovation and the Arts

11. Department of National Parks, Recreation, Sport and Racing

12. Department of Tourism, Major Events, Small Business and the Commonwealth Games

13. Department of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and Multicultural Affairs

14. Department of Local Government

They join the following already-existing departments and bodies, which have remained largely unchanged:

  • Department of the Premier and Cabinet
  • Queensland Health
  • Queensland Police Service
  • Department of Community Safety
  • Department of Justice and Attorney-General
  • Department of Transport and Main Roads
  • Public Service Commission
  • Queensland Reconstruction Authority
  • Skills Queensland
  • Public Trust Office
  • TransLink Transit Authority



Related Articles:

What will Campbell Newman’s public sector look like?                        

What ICT policies will Newman’s LNP take to the Queensland Election?

Queensland Government approaches the market to renew dramatically expanded hardware panel

Already a subscriber? Sign in here to keep reading

Want more content like this? Contact our team today for subscription options!

  • Stay up-to-date on hot topics in government
  • Navigate your business with executive level horizon outlooks
  • Get deep public sector ICT insights on our Market Watch series
  • QLD
  • Policy
  • campbell newman
  • Department of Housing and Public Works
  • Department of Public Works
  • DERM
  • Machinery of government
  • Natalie McDonald
  • Phillip Reed
  • qgcio
  • Queensland Election 2012
  • Ros Bates
  • Shared Services